NOIR (2018)

Awarded  Best Lounge Album of 2018  (Cocktail Nation: Sydney Australia) and  Best Cocktail Piano aAbum of 2018 (Cocktail Culture Magazine), James Spencer is currently one of the most celebrated solo jazz pianists in the world.  His music is currently heard on over 70 radio stations, and streaming sites.  

Noir, is a double digital album with 24 tracks of James Spencer's original cool jazz piano cocktail arrangements of beloved, requested standards that appear in classic film noir cinema. A late night, sophisticated, sensual and romantic album, James will transport you back to the cocktail piano bars of cosmopolitan cities like Los Angeles and New York City in the 1940s-1950s. 


  1. Nightfall  (Peter de Rose/Charles Harold, Sam M. Lewis)
  2. Never Let Me Go  (Jay Livingston/Ray Evans)
  3. Lady of the Evening (Irving Berlin)
  4. Shadowed Illusions (James Spencer based on a sketch by Ahmad Jamal)
  5. It's So Good To Want You  Bad (James Spencer)
  6. Laura (David Raksin/Johnny Mercer)
  7. The Start of Our Affair (James Spencer)
  8. Night Tide  (James Spencer)
  9. Bittersweet (Mike Corda/Johnny Mercer) 
  10. 'Round Midnight  (Thelonius Monk)
  11. I Can't Get Started (Vernon Duke/Ira Gershwin)
  12. I Cover the Waterfront  (Johnny Green/Edward Heyman)
  13. Easy Living  (Ralph Rainger/Leo Robin) 
  14. Angel Eyes  (Matt Dennis/Earl Brent)
  15. Stormy Weather (Harold Arlen/Ted Koehler)
  16. Ellingtonia (Duke Ellington)
  17. Misty  (Erroll Garner)
  18. Tenderly (Walter Gross/Jack Lawrence)
  19. Our Love Is Here To Stay (George and Ira Gershwin)
  20. As Time Goes By (Herman Hupfeld)
  21. Autumn In New York  (Vernon Duke)
  22. Stars Fell On Alabama (Frank Perkins/Mitchell Parish)
  23. Mercerville (Johnny Mercer)
  24. Dedicated To You  (Saul Chaplin/Sammy Cahn) 

All songs arranged by James Spencer

Available for Purchase: AMAZON or ITUNES


Digital ALbum

BLUE MOOD (2018)

James Spencer, 2018 release of Blue Mood has been played on radio station around the world.  

James solo cocktail piano lounge album combines original melancholy 1970s inspired compositions, beloved standards from the Great American Songbook, breezy bossa nova and light classical. 

James' original title song Blue Mood has been compared to composers like Marvin Hamlisch, Michel Legrand and Johnny Mandel.  First premiered on the radio show Cocktail Nation,  James toured  the US in early 2017 preferring to perform in intimate jazz venues over large arenas. 

Performance credits include:  The Ritz Carlton Resort and Spa (Laguna, Nigeul, CA),  The Sky Room at the The Breakers (Long Beach, CA),  Olde Pink Plantation (Savannah, Georgia),  Pier House Resort and Spa (Key West, Florida),  and Princeville Resort (Princeville, Kauai) 


  1. In A Blue Mood  (James Spencer)
  2. Arioso in A Flat (Johann Sebastian Bach)
  3. Nocturne in C Major (Edvard Grieg)
  4. Nocturne  No. 5 (John Field)
  5. This Time The Dream's On Me (Harold Arlen/Johnny Mercer)
  6. If I Could Be With You (James P. Johnson/Henry Creamer)
  7. I've Got A Crush On You (George and Ira Gershwin) 
  8. It Only Happens When I Dance With You (Irving Berlin) 
  9. It's A Blue World (Robert Wright/George Forrest) 
  10. Nocturnal Tangier (Leopold Godowsky)
  11. The Mysterious Jade Temple of Dahkla (James Spencer
  12. Blue and Sentimental (Count Basie) 
  13. Blue Gardenia (Bob Russell/Lester Lee)
  14. Someone Please Belong to Me/Girl Talk (Bobby Troup/Neil Hefti)

All Song Arranged By James Spencer